Australian Academy of Science 2021 honorifics for mathematical scientists

The Australian Academy of Science has awarded 24 scientists with prestigious honorific awards in 2021, including several in the mathematical sciences. Career awards will be celebrated at Science at the Shine Dome 2021 online.

SMRI congratulates Professor Cheryl Praeger AC, a member of our Advisory Board, who has been recognised with the inaugural Ruby Payne-Scott Medal and Lecture. The University of Western Australia Emeritus Professor is the 2019 winner of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science, among numerous other awards and postings. Professor Praeger presented the 2021 Ruby Payne-Scott Lecture on 12 May 2021.

Professor Mathai Varghese (University of Adelaide) has been awarded the Hannan Medal for his outstanding research in mathematics. The career award is presented in honour of the contribution to time series analysis by the late Professor E J Hannan. Professor Varghese will be presented with Hannan Medal at the online career award event on Tuesday 7 September at 13:30 AEST. Register for the online event.

Dr Kevin Coulembier (University of Sydney) and Dr Vera Roshchina (University of New South Wales) have been awarded the Christopher Heyde Medal. The Medal honours the contributions to mathematics by the late Professor Christopher Charles Heyde AM and is awarded to early career researchers across a broad range of mathematical fields. Both Dr Coulembier and Dr Roshchina have been local collaborators of SMRI international visitors.

Professor Christopher Drovandi (Queensland University of Technology) and Dr Janice Scealy (Australian National University) have been awarded the Moran Medal. The Medal honours the contributions to mathematics by the late P.A.P. Moran and is awarded to early career researchers in one or more of the fields of applied probability, biometrics, mathematical genetics, psychometrics and statistics.

Read more about the 2021 honorific awardees and watch their profile videos on the Australian Academy of Science’s website.

Larissa Fedunik-Hofman