2022 SMRI Executive Director Stephan Tillmann recognised with Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award

SMRI’s future Executive Director Professor Stephan “Tillus” Tillmann from the University of Sydney’s School of Mathematics and Statistics has been recognised with the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation presents approximately 20 Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Awards annually to internationally renowned academics from abroad in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments in research. The award is named for German astronomer and mathematician Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel (1784 – 1846) and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The Humboldt Foundation promotes international academic cooperation between scientists and scholars from Germany and abroad through the Humboldt network. The Foundation grants more than 700 competitive research fellowships and awards annually, primarily to academics from the natural sciences and the humanities.

Larissa Fedunik-Hofman