Symposium with Martin Hairer, February 2021

Over 3–19 February 2021, we explored the mathematics of Fields Medallist and Breakthrough Prize winner Martin Hairer, Professor of Mathematics at Imperial College London, in the SMRI-MATRIX Online Symposium with Martin Hairer. The symposium featured talks by Professor Hairer on his work in stochastic analysis, as well as talks by Australian mathematicians across the country.

Nalini Joshi awarded the 2021 ANZIAM Medal

SMRI would like to congratulate Professor Nalini Joshi, a member of our Scientific Advisory Committee, on being awarded the ANZIAM Medal for 2021.

Dr Jared Field

Jared Field

Dr Jared Field, Mckenzie Fellow in Mathematics at the University of Melbourne, describes how mathematics and biology intersect.

Cheryl Praeger appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia

SMRI congratulates Professor Cheryl Praeger AC, a member of our Advisory Board, on her appointment as a Companion of the Order of Australia, the highest honour in the Australia Day awards. The University of Western Australia Emeritus Professor is the 2019 winner of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science (among other awards).

Successful applicants for the Domestic Visitor Program – November 2020

The successful applicants for the Domestic Visitor Program – November 2020 are Masoud Kamgarpour (University of Queensland), Jared M. Field (University of Melbourne), Michael Small (University of Western Australia; pictured left) and Jessica Purcell (Monash University; pictured right).

Nalini Joshi

Nalini Joshi awarded the 2020 George Szekeres Medal

SMRI congratulates Professor Nalini Joshi on being jointly awarded the George Szekeres Medal for 2020.

Anna Romanov

Mathematician Dr Anna Romanov (Visiting Researcher, Sydney Mathematical Research Institute) discusses her research and path in mathematics, as well as how an undergraduate project of hers caught the eye of xkcd’s Randall Munro.

Successful applicants for the International Visitor Program – August 2020

Successful applicants for SMRI's International Visitor Program – August 2020 include Sheehan Olver, Henri Guenancia, Christof Melcher, Rafał Kulik, Erwan Rousseau, Mark Andrea de Cataldo, Jana de Wiljes, Paul Griffiths, Ivan Angiono, Vladimir Kazakov and Martin Schmidt.

Geordie Williamson is a finalist for the 2020 Eureka Prizes

Congratulations to Geordie who has been announced as a finalist in the 2020 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes, in the category of Leadership in Innovation and Science.

Successful applicants for the Domestic Visitor Program – July 2020

Visit information up to date as of 04 August 2020. For current information, see the visitor list. James Borger (Australian National University) Research interests: Algebra, number theory, algebraic geometry Dates: 7 September – 18 September 2020 Lance Gurney (Australian National University) Research interests: Prismatic cohomology, shtukas, Dieudonné theory, CM elliptic curves, Drinfeld modules, Lubin-Tate modules, ...

Nancy Scherich

Dr Nancy Scherich (Visiting Assistant Professor, Wake Forest University, North Carolina) discusses her research on braids, life as an early career researcher, and her experience combining mathematics with her love of dance. Dr Scherich was the 2017 winner of the Dance your PhD competition.

A message from the Executive Director

We have just passed one year since the Sydney Mathematical Research Institute opened its doors. Thanks to the hard work of our staff, and the strength of mathematical research at the University of Sydney and across Australia, we have been privileged to host a total of 80 visiting researchers in our first year. Like similar ...